The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) is an economic development program of the African Union. NEPAD was adopted at the 37th session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government in July 2001 in Lusaka, Zambia. NEPAD aims to provide an overarching vision and policy framework for accelerating economic co-operation and integration among African countries.

NEPAD’s four primary objectives are: to eradicate poverty, promote sustainable growth and development, integrate Africa in the world economy, and accelerate the empowerment of women.

To find out more about the African Union, please visit

Governing Structure of NEPAD[i]



Number of Women & Position

Heads of State & Government Implementation/Orientation Committee

The HSGOC provides leadership to the NEPAD process, sets policies, priorities and the programmes of action.

20 Heads of states-No women (Chaired by President Obasanjo, with Presidents Wade and Bouteflika as Vice-chairpersons)

Steering Committee-composed of the personal representatives of the five initiating presidents.

Is tasked with the development of the Terms of Reference for identified programmes and projects, as well as overseeing the Secretariat. 

20 AU member states- (Number of women is unknown)


The full-time, small core staff of the Secretariat located at the Development Bank of Southern Africa in Midrand provides the liaison, coordination, and administrative and logistical function for NEPAD. It is also responsible for outsourcing of work on technical detail to lead agencies and/or continental experts.

Has never been a women CEO[ii]

-Wiseman Nkuhlu of South Africa (2001–2005)

-Mozambican Firmino Mucavele (2005–2008).

- April 1, 2009, Ibrahim Hassane Mayaki

Five Task Teams

Were established to urgently identify and prepare specific implementable projects and programmes.

Number of women unknown

The governing structure of NEPAD






[i] South African Department of International Relations and Cooperation:, Accessed March 16, 2012.

Go to top